top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Fraga

Pool of Tears

‘Curiouser and curiouser!’

They didn’t tell me

just how far I’d fall

and what sorts of things

I would find

Bottle said: Drink me!

so I gulped it down

all so fast

I see myself changing

feeling very small

I’m floating in a pool

a pool of tears

and water flows fast

It whirls and ripples

getting sucked under

can’t reach

a breath to breathe

Trying to remember what I know

to get me out of

such a mess

Pointless school rhymes

jumble and fill my head

it went like this,

“how doth the little crocodile

Improve his shining tail,

And pour the waters of the Nile

On every golden scale!”

Ah, it’s all

nonsensical

now, and I can’t find my step

Oops! slipped off the edge

too tired to swim

now I’m gonna drown

in a pool

of

my

own

tears.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alice on Trial

So, they took me to court A felony they say! Attempted manslaughter A knife thrown a Waitress’s way Oh my! Didn’t hurt nobody though Life just ain’t been going MYYY WAY! Whose way?? But, everything is

Down the Rabbit Hole

Oh, Alice could you advise just how one can survive Falling down the Rabbit Hole? I’m finding myself a little lost looking for answers, turning to bottles Eat me! Drink me! They all say We’ll take you

Chasing a White Rabbit

Oh, Mr. Rabbit? Won’t you come my way It’s true I’ve been lookin’ and I can’t quite... put my finger on it but I want you to stay You want nothing to do with me, you say? Well, it’s true I have spent

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Thanks for submitting!

Join my mailing list
bottom of page