top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Fraga

Down the Rabbit Hole

Oh, Alice could you advise

just how one can survive

Falling down the Rabbit Hole?

I’m finding myself a little lost

looking for answers, turning to bottles

Eat me! Drink me!

They all say

We’ll take you to a

Technicolor Wonderland,

falling, falling, falling

ever so slowly…

And I watch things as they pass me by

A jar of Orange marmalade

wish I could go back to

the marmalade days

warm bread, sweet jam

Mama tucks me into bed

Forget it! It’s what You chose

falling down the Rabbit Hole

look down at dirty fingernails

look up at exasperated Waitress

“Hello, What can I getcha?”

Her eyes don’t like me

Mouth forms a hard line

But I only have sixty cents

hoping for some kindness

I push it all her way

“Get out of here bum,

you’re holding up business

We have customers, who’ll pay!”

Frantic, anxious,

grab a pack of marmalade

For old times sake

Slip out the booth, out the door

Throw a knife her way

I flip the bird

“Thank ya kindly, miss!

Have a BLESSED day!”

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alice on Trial

So, they took me to court A felony they say! Attempted manslaughter A knife thrown a Waitress’s way Oh my! Didn’t hurt nobody though Life just ain’t been going MYYY WAY! Whose way?? But, everything is

Chasing a White Rabbit

Oh, Mr. Rabbit? Won’t you come my way It’s true I’ve been lookin’ and I can’t quite... put my finger on it but I want you to stay You want nothing to do with me, you say? Well, it’s true I have spent

Pool of Tears

‘Curiouser and curiouser!’ They didn’t tell me just how far I’d fall and what sorts of things I would find Bottle said: Drink me! so I gulped it down all so fast I see myself changing feeling very sma

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Thanks for submitting!

Join my mailing list
bottom of page