top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Fraga

Icarus

Icarus flew too close to the sun and got burned

He thought he was invincible and thought he could have it all

To touch the divine light that allows the world to exist

And live to tell the tale, but he didn’t, he burned

He burned into nothing, into millions of meaningless ashes

For no one to ever see or hear from again, existing only in abyss

And for what Icarus? What did you gain? What did you fulfill?

A story perhaps? Notoriety? You’re a shell of a being!

Claiming to be a god, but plagued with humanity

And the human mind works in sick ways, it’s a wicked game

Did you even want the sun? Or did you want the pain?

Did life get so boring that you had to push the limits?

Was it worth it? Did you amuse yourself?

Because, I like to amuse myself. Why did you have to show me I would burn?

Why couldn’t I test the limits for myself?

I look at my own life, and I am only a spectator

An audience member watching a film

And the film is boring me, her family is too supportive

Her boyfriend is too perfect, it’s all just TOO picturesque

So, I’ll hand it over to the uncanny double, the black swan, and shut my eyes

She always cures the boredom

A fear of the mundane, I like to amuse myself you see

So, I let her interlude in my perfect little life, stir the pot

Forget your perfect boyfriend, I see you looking at the other

Tattoos run up strong arms, a lovely build it is

Thick dark hair, the embodiment of true masculinity

And he’s looking at you like you’re something to eat

And truth be told, you want to be devoured

And he’s trying to pull you in, and so desperately, you want to say yes

But, Icarus flew too close to the sun, and look what happened to him...

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Slice of Pie

You took my kindness for weakness You took my advice and devoured it Not use or to keep, but to bring me closer You looked at my life, Because it was something you wanted You felt you knew it, knew me

A Rose for Emily

It’s a strange thing to mourn those who are still alive File away the past into another archive In the flames we burned away, I tried to contrive A method to the madness, a way we could thrive They sa

Pristine

With those angelic eyes, you look up and see me Isn’t perfection just a wicked scheme? With sweat that dries on your skin, still as sweet Empathy in my eyes, I see the brokenness underneath I’m here t

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Thanks for submitting!

Join my mailing list
bottom of page