top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Fraga

Slice of Pie

You took my kindness for weakness

You took my advice and devoured it

Not use or to keep, but to bring me closer

You looked at my life,

Because it was something you wanted

You felt you knew it, knew me

And you resented me for it

How many times do I have to tell you?

You don’t know me

You don’t know my life, who I’ve been all these years

You’re not my physiatrist, my father, my boyfriend, my priest

But you wanted to be one of those

You wanted to take,

And fit a place within me

I don’t have anything for you

Stop picking at the crumbs

Just take what I offer

And leave me alone

I didn’t ask for you help, your consultations, your advice

I didn’t ask for anything from you.

You’re unsatisfied with everyone,

Because of the pedestals you place them all on

Including yourself

I don’t know who you think I am

I know I’m not her, she let you down

Now you’re angry with me, disappointed

But all I ever did was show you

Who I was

You chose to see what you wanted

And romanticized what you didn’t

I am a fucking human being.

Not a dish for you to pick from

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Rose for Emily

It’s a strange thing to mourn those who are still alive File away the past into another archive In the flames we burned away, I tried to contrive A method to the madness, a way we could thrive They sa

Pristine

With those angelic eyes, you look up and see me Isn’t perfection just a wicked scheme? With sweat that dries on your skin, still as sweet Empathy in my eyes, I see the brokenness underneath I’m here t

Can't Catch a Break

I can’t catch a break all the people, they want something but I’m broke, I ain’t got nothing They all want a piece a piece of an empty pie shell that’s been long gone, eaten away at no stray crumb to

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Thanks for submitting!

Join my mailing list
bottom of page